Painting Goes Better With Light

20120526-000252.jpg

Painting goes better with light. 5/25/12
Some things can be done in the dark— eat popcorn while watching a movie, listen to music, pray, sleep, dream..
For Most things, we need some light. To read. To prepare food. To sort clothes for laundry.
Today, I needed light to paint a room, specifically, a small bathroom. There was some light coming in through the window above the shower/ tub enclosure. A light in that section was turned on and functioning. In order to thoroughly paint the wall, the light fixture above the double sinks and mirror had been removed. No direct light in that part of the room. So I think ( maybe that was the mistake?), that should be enough to see for now.
I grab a small paintbrush and begin to edge the room. I think I’m doing pretty well. Then I use the roller or the rest of the walls. Time to let it dry.
A little while later, we’re sorting out another room. “Take that lamp down to the garage for the sale, ” she tells me. “I want to use it in the bathroom to look at the painting,” I say and move the lamp in there. After plugging it in and turning it on, I inspect my painting. Not so good!
I did need more light. That paintbrush was not applying the paint as smoothly as it looked like it was. What an illusion! What a big mistake to think I could paint in dim lighting.
I’ve been painting walls for years. The first wall I painted was when I was in junior high school. My older brother had gone away to college; I got to have his room! Yippee! I was going to have a room of my own, no longer needing to share with my younger sister. So I painted that room. In this house I have painted the kitchen, family room, living room, bonus room, upstairs and downstairs hallway. One bedroom and bath I have painted 3 times; ceiling too.
So, you see, I am experienced. I know I need light to see how the paint is going on the wall.
All of this is to say, we all need some light shining in our world. Sunshine and clear blue skies with a few fluffy clouds is my favorite. Sometimes it’s people in our lives who shine their light and brighten our world.
His Word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path always, to guide and to guard me from sin and show me His heavenly ways. Psalm 119:105
Let your light so shine before men that they may see you good works and glorify your father in heaven. Matthew 5:16
Are you shining your light?
What’s the next step you need to take to let your light shine?

Leave a Reply

